It is second main constituent of body, formed by combination of Tej and Aap Mahabhuta. The word Pitta is derived from verb root tapa-santape meaning the fire. Its main function is paka i.e, cooking or combustion, which is responsible for various bio-transformations in the body as described by Rishi Kanad in vaisheshika philosophy. Pitta is chiefly composed of Tej having quality of Sattva i.e., luminosity and subtlety and is derived from solar radiations.

It is great force of organization. The liquid crystal form of cell protoplasm is due to liquid property of Aap (water) and crystal like clarity of Tej Mahabhut which are constituents of Pitta.

Types of pita :

1) Pachak Pitta>>Causes cooking/combustion/digestion and assimilation of food. It divides digested food into sara (essence) and kitta (waste matter) with the help of Samana Vayu. The sara is absorbed as Anna rasa (chyle) which is further transformed into Rasa dhatu. Hydrochloric acid in Gastric juice and various hormones and enzymes in all the digestive juices secreted in different parts of Gastrointestinal tract comprise the actions of Pachak Pitta.
2) Ranjak Pitta>>It gives red colour to rakta. in other words; it means that Ranjak Pitta causes haemoglobinisation of erythrocytes.
3) Sadhak Pitta>>It is located in Hridaya (heart and brain).Its function are shourya (valour), bhaya (fear), krodha (anger), harsh (joy), moha (delusion).This are basic behavioural instincts of a man controlled by hippocampus and amygdalar region in brain. It is also responsible for medha (memory), buddhi (intelligence), abhiman (self esteem).They all are functions of higher brain.
4) Alochak Pitta>>It is buddhi visheshak (a requisite quality for intelligence).Its function is vision.
5) Brajak Pitta>>It is characteristic of colour, complexion, radiance and luster of skin.

Request Appointment

Our Weight
Loss Results

Previous Next